2018 Energy Educator of the Year Award

This year, Canadian Geographic Education and Shell Canada want to recognize four teachers by presenting each of them with Canada’s Energy Educator of the Year Award. This award acknowledges hard working CEDC teachers who have participated enthusiastically  in the challenge and who have shown commitment to fostering energy literacy in their school and community.

If you think you would make a great candidate, or know someone who will, here is all the information you need to know.

Who is eligible:

If you are successfully registered for the CEDC, have completed a minimum of 3 challenges, and have actively encouraged energy literacy in your school or community, then you have a chance to win!

Who can nominate someone?

Any educator, student or member of the community can nominate someone. Can’t find someone to nominate you? No problem. Teachers can nominate themselves for the award too.

How do you nominate someone?

Nominating someone is easy, follow these easy steps:

1. Send an email to [email protected]with the title Energy Educator of the Year Award
Include the following documents:

* A definition of “energy literacy”

* An explanation and some examples of what this teacher has done to promote energy literacy

2. Attach 2 letters of support from any educator, student or community member

When is the deadline?

All nominations must be sent before the CEDC closes on April 26, 2018.

What will winners receive?

4 Energy Educator of the Year Awards will be presented this year, one for each region of Canada: Atlantic (Nfld., P.E.I, N.S., N.B.), Pacific (B.C., Alta., Sask.), Central (Man., Ont., Que.) and the Territories (Y.T., N.W.T., N.T.).

Each winner will receive $250 dollars and a plaque with the winner’s name.