2020 Energy Educator of the Year Award

This year, Canadian Geographic Education and Shell Canada want to recognize two teachers by presenting each of them with an Energy Educator of the Year Award. This award acknowledges hard-working Classroom Energy Diet Challenge teachers who have participated enthusiastically in the Challenge and who have shown a commitment to fostering energy literacy in their school and community.

If you think you would make a great candidate, or know someone who would, here is all the information you need to know.

Who is eligible?

If you are successfully registered for the 2020 Classroom Energy Diet Challenge, have completed a minimum of 3 challenges, teach at the elementary or secondary level, and have actively encouraged energy literacy in your school or community, then you have a chance to win! Refer to the Contest Rules for more information.

Who can nominate someone?

Any educator, student or member of the community can nominate someone. Can’t find someone to nominate you? No problem. Teachers can nominate themselves for the award too.

How do you nominate someone or yourself?

Nominating someone or yourself is easy—follow these simple steps:

Send an email to “[email protected]” with the subject heading: Energy Educator of the Year Award.

Include the following:

1) Information

  • The teacher’s name and school;
  • The teacher’s contact email;
  • The teacher’s definition of “energy literacy”;
  • An explanation of the teacher’s energy education initiatives;
  • Class level (elementary or secondary) for which they would be nominated;
  • An explanation of how energy literacy was integrated into the teacher’s school or classroom; and
  • Examples of how the teacher’s energy education initiatives have influenced literacy and change.

2) Two letters of support

Attach two letters of support from any educator, student or member of the community.

When is the deadline?

All nominations must be sent to “[email protected]” before the Classroom Energy Diet Challenge closes on April 24, 2020, at 11:59 am (noon) (EST).

What will winners receive?

Two Energy Educator of the Year Awards, one at the elementary level and one at the secondary level, will be presented this year.

Each winner will receive $500 and a plaque with their name on it.

Good luck!