Energy Educator of the Year Award

In the past four years, the CEDC has attracted inspired, passionate and hard-working teachers. This year, Canadian Geographic Education (CG Education) and Shell Canada want to recognize four teachers by naming them Canada’s Energy Educators of the Year. These four awards will acknowledge teachers who have enthusiastically participated in the CEDC and are committed to the ongoing promotion of energy literacy in their school and community.


Who is eligible?

These awards will be presented to four educators that have actively participated in this year’s CEDC and earned more than 30 points.


Who can nominate someone?

Any educator, student or member of the community can nominate a deserving teacher.


How do you nominate someone?

Write a document that:

  • explains what has this teacher done to promote energy literacy this year;
  • defines energy literacy as it relates the nominee;
  • explains how energy literacy was integrated into the school;
  • gives some examples of your teacher’s energy initiatives.


Additionally, 2 letters of support from any educator, student or community member who have worked with this teacher must be submitted.


When is the deadline?

Nominations must be submitted to the Classroom Energy Diet Challenge administration by April 26, 2015 to [email protected]


What will winners receive?

Four (4) Energy Educator of the Year Awards will be presented this year, one for each region of Canada: Atlantic (Nfld., P.E.I, N.S., N.B.), Pacific (B.C., Alta., Sask.), Central (Man., Ont., Que.) and the Territories (Y.T., N.W.T., N.T.).


Each winner will receive $250 dollars and a plaque with the winner’s name.


Help us recognize committed educators in Canada by nominating them for this award!